Fade to Black

FADE IN:
EXT. TRAIN STATION – DAY
At a quiet German train station a young woman exits. Very beautiful with flawless white skin and dark black hair she is dressed in a typical pin-suit skirt, and jacket paired with a veiled hat.
DISSOLVE TO: TRAIN STATION TICKETING OFFICE
EXT. TRAIN STATION – TICKETING OFFICE
The young woman approaches the ticketing office with questions as to why her next train has been re-routed adding another full days worth of travel to her itinerary.
YOUNG WOMAN
“Excuse me, can I get some help here?”
TICKETING AGENT
“Yes, what can I help you with Miss?”
YOUNG WOMAN
“It appears that my train is running behind schedule. Can you tell me what is going on?”
TICKETING AGENT
“Yes, ma’am the Fuhrer, and the army had a need to take control over some of our rails, but we have you set to be boarding your next train in about an hour.”
The young woman frowns squinching her nose slightly as she weighed the information given.
YOUNG WOMAN
“How long will the next train ride take? I was supposed to be at an event tomorrow evening.”
TICKETING AGENT
“The ride from Berlin to Vienna takes about ten hours, Miss.”
YOUNG WOMAN
“Well, am I expected to wait outside for an hour?”
TICKETING AGENT
“Well, ma’am there is a small bistro cafeteria just on the other side of the train station where you can order yourself a fine cup of tea. If you like tea, that is.”
YOUNG WOMAN
“Well, I very much appreciate that.”
She scoffs slightly at the ticketing agent, and his rather foul attempt at hospitality. Very offended by the ideal of walking to the cafeteria she stoops down to carry her own luggage off towards the bistro.
FADE TO: BISTRO
INT. BISTRO- LATE AFTERNOON
Young woman is seated at a corner table with a cup of tea, and some scones on top of saucer. Both the drink and food remain untouched. While the girl stares absentminded out the window.
A man approaches with a frightful demeanor. His face is badly scarred on the left side, and he has a very formidable expression on his face.
MYSTERIOUS MAN
“Excuse me, ma’am may I ask what you are doing here?”
YOUNG WOMAN
“I am just waiting for my train to come.”
MYSTERIOUS MAN
“Were you on the three o’clock?”
YOUNG WOMAN
“Yes, I was but I believe I am being put on the five o’clock now.”
Her eyes narrow slightly curious as to know why this man dressed in a Nazi uniform had decided to approach her.
MYSTERIOUS MAN
“I see, and are you unchaperoned Miss?”
YOUNG WOMAN
“Have I done something wrong, officer? I feel as though I am being interrogated.”
The man chuckles lightly at the woman’s response, but his demeanor remains slightly rigid.
MYSTERIOUS MAN
“No, ma’am. I only wished to stop, and see what a radiant young woman was doing in this place all by herself.”
He crosses his arms over his chest, and remains standing tall above her.
YOUNG WOMAN
“Oh, well, please do forgive my rudeness.”
The young woman gives the man a half-smile.
MYSTERIOUS MAN
“No, forgive my rudeness. My name is Johein, and what may I call you?”
YOUNG WOMAN
“Kaira.”
She replies coolly as if she does not want this stranger to know her last name, or any more information about her.
JOHEIN
“Well, Miss Kaira, it appears that your train has also been cancelled. The fuhrer needs more rails. So I have come to offer you a room at the hotel that shall be paid in full by myself.

KAIRA
“My train has been cancelled?”
Her eyebrows furrow, but the man simply returns the question with a chuckle of his own.
JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“Yes, all trains have been cancelled until the morning. I heard from the ticketing agent that you were unchaperoned, and quite a lady. So here I am to save the day.”
He was rather boastful in his speech, and mannerism.
KAIRA
“Very, well.”
With little other options, and knowing this was a Nazi Officer. Kaira decides she has no other choice. Standing from her seat, the food still remains untouched she stoops to lift her luggage, but is stopped by Johein.
JOHEIN
“I am proud to be of service, Miss Kaira, please allow me to take your bags.”
Kaira allows him to take the bags, and timidly follows behind him.
FADE TO BLACK.
INT. GRAND HOTEL-LOBBY
The officer had taken her across town, but only a few block and then brought her into the Grand Hotel where he would staying. Kaira looked around the massive vault ceiling, and listens while Johein continues to speak to her.
JOHEIN
“I do not have another room for you to stay in, young lady, but I have a presidential suite, and it is rather large. I hope you enjoy staying here.”
KAIRA
“I don’t know if I should accept that offer, Officer, but I do find it very kind of you.”
JOHEIN
“Nonsense, a beautiful woman such as yourself should be in the most comfortable of places. Please, don’t offend my graciousness, Kaira.”
KAIRA
“I would never mean to offend you for your hospitality sir, but I am a bit concerned about how this may look. I am unchaperoned, and I have just met you.”

KAIRA
“I would never mean to offend you for your hospitality sir, but I am a bit concerned about how this may look. I am unchaperoned, and I have just met you.”
JOHEIN
“Not a bit of a problem miss. I will be giving you the entire suite to use all by your lonesome. I have a lady friend in town I am going to see.”
KAIRA
“Oh, I am sorry for seeming so rude.”
JOHEIN
“Not harm, and no foul young lady. I really do only wish to see you comfortable until you can return home to Lemburg.”
Kaira smiles at him as the two of the remain standing at the front lobby desk until Johein has made certain the bellman had all of Kaira’s luggage. Lifting the luggage from the ground the bellman threw it all onto a large suitcase rack, and proceeded to push it. Johein approached the front desk attendant with a commanding tone.
JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“Yes, hello I need to pick up the key to the presidential suite.”
Kaira approached behind Johein, and proceeds to stand to the right of him. She watches in silence as the desk attendant smiles and nods to the Nazi Official.
DESK ATTENDANT
“Yes, sir may I have your name?”
JOHEIN
“Lieutenant Johein Mauer.”
DESK ATTENDANT
(searching for reservation names in the register)
DESK ATTENDANT (CONT’D)

DESK ATTENDANT (CONT’D)
“Lieutenant Mauer, Johein.”
(She look up at him smiling as she finds his name listed in the registry, and turning the guest register around to face him she holds out a quill.)
JOHEIN
“Thank you, MIss.”
(Johein takes the quill from the attendant and proceeds to sign the registry before nodding to the raven-haired beauty known as Kaira von Masoch.)
JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“This young woman is my charge, and she shall be staying in the suite in my stead some evenings. I expect that anything she orders, or needs be fulfilled just as if she were myself.”
DESK ATTENDANT
“Oh course, Lieutenant Mauer. Miss may I gather your information for the registry as well?”
KAIRA
(stepping forward she retrieves the same quill from Johein and proceeds to sign the registry.)
“Not a problem, and I do appreciate all the help, Lieutenant.”
DESK ATTENDANT
“Yes, Ma’am.”
(she smiles at Kaira and retrieves the quill before glancing over the name signed)
DESK ATTENDANT (CONT’D)
“Von Masoch, Kaira Faire? What a lovely name any relation to the writer?”
KAIRA
“Actually, yes, but I prefer not to tell many people about my father, and his writings.”

The desk attendant simply smiles as her eyes widen in realization that the young lady is the daughter of the Austrian writer known( as Leopold von Masoch.)
DESK ATTENDANT
“I do apologize, Miss von Masoch, but I am a huge fan, and I only wished to relay my gratitude.”
KAIRA
“Of course, and no offense is found in that. I do appreciate all your hospitality.”
JOHEIN
“Well, then shall we go upstairs, Miss von Masoch?”
KAIRA
“Yes, of course.”
(Kaira follows in silence before nodding once more to the pretty young German attendant, and the bellman who took charge of her luggage.)
FADE TO: HALLWAY IN FRONT OF THE PRESIDENTIAL SUITE
(JOHEIN QUICKLY MAKES HIS WAY DOWN THE HALL, AND AFTER A FEW MOMENTS HE UNLOCKS THE DOOR, AND USHERS KAIRA INSIDE. UPON SEEING THE SURROUNDINGS SHE IS AWESTRUCK BECAUSE THE SUITE IS UNLIKE ANYTHING SHE HAS EVER STAYED IN EVEN BEING THE DAUGHTER OF A RENOWN AUTHOR.)
JOHEIN
“So what do you think, Miss von Masoch?”
KAIRA
“I must say the Fuhrer treats you all very well. I am quite impressed.”
JOHEIN
“Would you feel more at ease if I ordered you a nightcap?”
KAIRA
“I must ask where will I be sleeping, and is it possible for me to get a schedule for the train? I know my family will be wrought with
worries.”
JOHEIN
“Well, I would like to at least get you comfortable before I leave for the evening. Then you may ring for more information about the train, and scheduling. I am sure the desk attendant can help you to send a telegraph.”
KAIRA
“Well, I do believe a cosmopolitan may do me well for the evening, and am I to sleep in the bed?”
JOHEIN
“You may have the bed as I shall be visiting a lady friend. I do not know what time I shall be returning for sure, but I imagine it will be early in the morning before breakfast.”
KAIRA
“I am much obliged, Johein, truly I am.”
JOHEIN
“Oh, believe me Miss von Masoch, you will get your chance to repay the favor.”
(Johein exits the suite, and says nothing more about the matter leaving Kaira to her own questions and curiousities about the Nazi Lieutenant.)
FADE TO BLACK.
FADE IN: PRESIDENTIAL SUITE: MORNING
KAIRA HAS LAID HERSELF TO SLEEP IN THE MASSIVE BED, AND HAS RESTED WELL IT IS NOW EARLY MORNING AND THE KEYS RATTLE IN THE LOCK CUING THAT JOHEIN HAS RETURNED, BUT KAIRA DOES NOT SHIFT FROM HER BEAUTY SLEEP.)
JOHEIN
“Well, if sleeping beauty were to meet Snow White I do believe there is one within my bed.”
(Evidence of his lust is quite apparent upon sight of him, but as Kaira sleeps she is unawares of the rape about to take place. Johein approaches the bed with a white kerchief that has been doused with chloroform.)
KAIRA
(awaking from her slumber just as Johein takes the kerchief to her mouth a single murmur escapes her lips.)
“No..”
JOHEIN
“Yes, my little beauty.”
(As Kaira passes out, Johein begins to unbuckle his belt, and pants. Leaning forward he rips her sheer white nightgown from her petite form and proceeds to rip strips of the fabric off her body which is then used to tether her four limbs to the posts on the bed. The procession of rape is brutal, and in the process he slips a small knife from the bedside table and carves a swastika upon her left hip. Just beneath it he carves his initials (KAIRA BEGINS TO ROUSE AFTER HOURS LONG OF THE RAPE, AND BRUTAL SKIN CARVING SHE AWAKES TO FINDING HERSELF IN BLOODIED WHITE SHEETS, AND STRIPPED OF ALL HER CLOTHING. HAVING BEEN TETHERED TO THE BED SHE IS UNABLE TO MOVE. SHE NOTICES JOHEIN IS SITTING IN A HIGH-BACKED CHAIR SMOKING A CIGAR.)
JOHEIN
“Awake now my beauty?”
(his voice is somewhat darker than previously, and his words of endearment are quite scary.)
KAIRA
“Your beauty?”
(Her voice is hoarse, and her body bruised and beaten she is barely able to lift her head, and due to her fatigue lays her head back against the pillow as tears begin to well within her eyes.)
JOHEIN
“Yes, my beauty, and I do believe you will enjoy being such.”
(he is arrogant in his demeanor as he lifts the cigar to inhale yet another puff.)

JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“You see you will not be able to get back to Austria any time soon. The train tracks have been closed off to civilians. You are forced to stay here in this suite, and you will. Because if you do not then I will kill you, and nobody will question me.”
(He pulls the cigar from his lips, and grins quite pleasantly. Almost as if no crime has been committed, and quite certain that he is above the law.)
KAIRA
“Am I to be your simple whore? Doesn’t it bother you that you have raped an author’s daughter? I was virginal til this morning.”
(she whimpers softly each word harder than the next to anunciate as her tears stream down her rosy cheeks.)
JOHEIN
“I knew who you were, Kaira. That makes no difference to me. I am the law here, and you are now mine. Yes, I spotted you long before I approached, but you won’t be my simple whore, no. I have bigger plans than that for you.”
KAIRA
“Bigger plans for me?”
(Her eyes close as she struggles to pull her wrists free of the silken cloth strip binds, but to no avail.)
JOHEIN
“Don’t fight against the binds, Kaira. You will hurt your wrists, and I don’t think an esteemed lady should have marks on her wrists, or ankles. It detracts from her beauty.”

(He taps the cigar upon a glass ashtray casting his gaze down to it as he continues to speak.)
JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“Do you think that anyone will believe you are innocent when you willfully signed the register to stay in this room, and are unwed?”
(He looks back up at her drawing the cigar to his lips once more before inhaling another puff. Johein is quite handsome with striking blue eyes, and shiny golden blonde hair. In a normal world Kaira might have found him appealing, but seeing that he was her rapist she was repelled by the mere sight of him.)
KAIRA
“You planned this all along didn’t you?”
(She rolls her head to the right looking up at the white curtains, and the fading sunlight of the day.)
JOHEIN
“Oh, you slow girl. I thought you were smarter than this. Of, course I have been planning this. I am a sadist it is what I enjoy. Besides so few young ladies are as prestigious a catch as you are.”
KAIRA
“Why?”
JOHEIN
“Because you are a trophy unlike most, Kaira Faire von Masoch, and honestly I intend to keep you as such. What choice do you have? Either be my mistress, or be my captive what shall it be?”
KAIRA
“Your mistress or your captive? What about my family?”

JOHEIN
“Your family is being written as we speak to be told you are eloping with myself, and shall never return to Austria again. They will believe it is true. I am not an ugly man, Miss von Masoch. Most ladies would be happy to marry me.”
KAIRA
“But you haven’t given me the option of a marriage, Lieutenant.”
JOHEIN
“No, I have not, but the same applies. They will believe that you have eloped, and your options will still remain the same agree to being my mistress, or you will be kept captive. What shall it be?”
KAIRA
(As she realizes there is little more she can do to get herself out of this situation she humbly agrees, but not before taking notice of the varying tools he keeps on his bedside table. One being the knife he used to carve a swastika in her hip.)

“Very well then, Johein. Can you release me for a shower please?”
JOHEIN
(Weighing his options he brings the cigar back up to his lips and nods.)
JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“Well, that depends on if you chose to run. Can I trust you, Kaira?”
KAIRA
“Yes, of course you can trust me.”
JOHEIN
(Standing from the chair he smashes his cigar out in the glass ashtray, and then proceeds to move towards the bed where he begins to unbind her wrists first.)
KAIRA
“I am afraid, Johein. Will you hurt me again?”
JOHEIN
(Nonchalantly shakes his head.)
JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“No, I will not hurt you again. Next time you will come to me willing.”
(He finally releases both binds, and moves downward to untie her ankles. Kaira remains silent awaiting the opportune moment to strike.)

JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“I know that you will come to love me, Kaira. You will be mine, and adore me in your own time. All of my conquests do.”
KAIRA
“Why didn’t you just romance me, Johein. You are indeed so handsome. Why rape a woman who could have been yours so easily?”
JOHEIN
“Because you would have said no, as all high class women do. I am no fool, young mistress.”
(As he finally unties the fourth bind Kaira pulls her legs upwards in attempt to be modest. Johein leans forward and lifts her to carry into the bathroom, but Kaira resists. IN an effort to distract him she leans upward pressing her lips to his. Her right hand reaches for the knife, and then as she clutches it she pulls it forward quickly plunging it into the center of his back.)
JOHEIN (CONT’D)
“Ah, you bitch!”

(Johein screams before Kaira removes the blade and then pushing her knees up from under him she kicks him backward upon the bed before crawling over on top of his body, and slamming the blade down once more within his chest. Johein begins to choke on his own blood staring up at her in horror as he shockingly sees the last face he would ever see before his death. A beautiful young woman named Kaira Faire von Masoch.)
KAIRA
“You wretched bastard!”
(She screams loud, and with a third draw back plunges the same knife into his gut before drawing it downwards towards his pelvic region with every intention of dismembering his manhood.)
(Johein struggles to catch a breath, as his chest cavity fills with blood, he is completely unable to defend himself, and within a matter of moments he is completely lifeless beneath the murderess’s hand. The victim had now become the predator, and within a few moments time Kaira had turned from innocent to bloodied justified fiend. She dropped the blade, and now in shock she whispers quietly to herself.)

KAIRA (CONT’D)
“I can never belong to a sadistic Nazi. I can never be yours. I can never be. I can never be.”
(She turned about face, and began to cross the distance from the bed to the floor, exiting the hallway she began to stride down it making her way for the nearest exit, and finding herself stared at by various guests, and employees as she continued in her bloody stride. Ruby red footprints followed her down the path, and finally she makes her way out of the hotel into the street. Wandering for hours, she finally makes it to a hospital where she enters and asks to be looked at. The staff in their curiosity of what befell her hurry to help the young girl.
KAIRA (CONT’D)
“I’ve been raped, but I don’t remember who did it. I was kept captive. I have no idea where I am.”
NURSE
“I am sorry ma’am, but let’s get a doctor to look at you. We need to check and make sure you are not bleeding or perhaps severely injured.”
(Kaira nods, and follows the nurse into the nearest room where she awaits the doctors appearance. A shocked young woman she simply remains seated on the gurney in silence before a man comes in the room. Softly he speaks, but the tone is oddly familiar.)
DOCTOR
“Hello, Miss, can you tell me what happened?”

(His accent is heavily German, and somewhat familiar to that of Johein’s. Kaira stirs looking upwards to a face she had no idea she could ever see again. Was it a ghost? Had she gone crazy? Uncertain about what she saw the only thing that she could think to say slid from her lips like ice.)
KAIRA
“Johein?”
(And then she fell off the gurney into silence.)
FADE TO BLACK.

Leave a Reply

