Memories Lost

Enraptured by the passion that you saw in my eyes
I think you miscalculated what was hidden behind them.
You fell so quickly, and yet you shied away as well.
Now I feel as if you’ve been submerged in your own inner hell.
You loved me like I hoped for, and I kept my promise true.
Yet now in the midst of loneliness it seems you’ve started to come unglued.
If I disappeared in a moment’s notice, and our flame of love was gone
would you miss the scent of my skin?
Would you wish that I weren’t gone?
Would you remember the smile I gave you?
Or wish to keep me close at hand?
Or would the past flicker of your heart
come to claim you in what you wished you would have had?

Leave a Reply

